Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks announced this week campaign chairs in all 20 counties of Iowa’s first congressional district. In a statement to the media, her campaign manager, Elliott Husbands, celebrated the news.

“Our county chairs include teachers, veterans, farmers, and state elected officials who will lead our grassroots efforts in their respective counties. Each and every one of them will play a vital role to ensure our campaign reaches voters in every part of the district,” said Husbands. “We’re proud to have the support of such an outstanding group of Iowa grassroots leaders.”

Several of the chairs explained why they took on the role and why they want the congresswoman re-elected.

“As a fellow U.S. Army veteran, I am proud to support Mariannette Miller-Meeks. Since taking office, Congresswoman Miller-Meeks has kept her commitment to serving veterans through passing several bills that aim to assist veterans in entering the civilian workforce, strengthen the VA to provide better mental health resources, and further extend the VA’s outreach to veterans in rural areas, “ said Clinton county chair Tim Striley, who served in the 101st Airborne Division.

The congresswoman expressed her gratitude and noted how honored she was to have their support.

“I am honored to receive the support from so many great leaders here in southeast Iowa,” Miller-Meeks said. “This campaign is about standing with parents, empowering our farmers, backing the blue, and protecting our children. I am confident that these community leaders will spread our message far and wide across Iowa’s 1st District, and we look forward to taking back the House in November.”

Miller-Meeks, who currently represents Iowa’s second district, is seeking re-election in the new first district. The redistricting process of 2021 dictated a change in the numbering and the boundaries of the state’s four congressional districts. While Miller-Meeks previously represented southeast Iowa’s second district, the new first district primarily comprises the same counties.

Before her time in Congress, Miller-Meeks served as the Iowa Department of Public Health director and a state senator. Professionally she is an ophthalmologist who served 24 years in the U.S. Army and Army Reserves.

The complete list of county chairs is below:

  • Cedar: Velma Huebner of Clarence
  • Clinton: Tim Striley of Camanche
  • Des Moines: state Sen. Tim Goodwin of Burlington
  • Henry: Judi Collora of Mount Pleasant;
  • Iowa: state Sen. Dawn Driscoll of Williamsburg
  • Jackson: Darla Chappell of Saint Donatus
  • Jasper: Thad Nearmyer of Monroe
  • Jefferson:  Marshan Roth of Fairfield
  • Johnson: Theresa Horton-Bumgarner of Tipton
  • Jones: Candy Braidley of Cascade
  • Keokuk: Tanya Webster of Sigourney
  • Lee: Terry Schrepfer of Fort Madison
  • Louisa: Taylor Collins of Mediapolis
  • Mahaska: Jean Stanford of New Sharon
  • Marion: Rachael Lopez of Pleasantville
  • Muscatine: Dan Freeman of Muscatine
  • Scott: Linda Greenlee of Davenport
  • Van Buren: Ted Hee of Cantril
  • Warren: Mark and Cindy Snell of Norwalk.