Republican congressional candidate Ashley Hinson announced she iss supported by over 50 Law Enforcement Officers in Iowa’s first congressional district. Hinson rolled out her Law Enforcement Advisory Committee comprised of sheriffs, police chiefs, sheriff’s deputies, volunteer firefights, mental health advocates, and law enforcement spouses.

“The thing I respect the most about Ashley is her deep commitment to solutions and her accessibility. Law enforcement has a lot of challenges and the environment we’re in is making it increasingly difficult to recruit new officers. I trust Ashley to have our back in Congress and continue to support policies that keep our communities safer, just like she’s done in Des Moines.”  – Greg Graver, Jones County Sheriff

“We need leaders in Washington, like Ashley, who are willing to have these tough conversations and stand up for law enforcement in Congress. Ashley is an ally of law enforcement, and I know that she will listen to us, and work towards solutions everyday in Washington.”  – Sarah Lacina, Cedar Rapids Police Officer

Hinson’s opponent is incumbent congresswoman Abby Finkeauer. Finkenauer won a seat in Congress during the 2018 midterms. As a member of the state legislature, Finkeauer voted against the 2018 State Senate Bill that would ban sanctuary cities in the state. Hinson supported the measure. The bill was signed into law later that year by Governor Reynolds.

Finkeauer only recently announced she opposed defunding the police during a debate between the candidates. This came after weeks of requests of where she stood on the issue. Some have wondered if her stance is the result of doing what was politically expedient because of the issue’s unpopularity with voters rather than a sincerely held policy view.

“I have made it very clear: I do not support defunding the police or cuts to law enforcement funding. As lawmakers, it is our responsibility to work across the aisle to find solutions that hold bad actors accountable. Defunding the police is not a solution. I look forward to leaning on this advisory committee for advice because these folks are the experts in their fields and are dealing with these issues on the frontlines. I’ll support policies in Congress that keep our neighborhoods safe and protect Iowans.” – Ashley Hinson

The Law Enforcement Advisory Committee compliments her Small Business and Agriculture coalitions previously announced.

Law Enforcement Advisory Committee members:

Amanda Anderson  Law Enforcement Mental Health Advocate Dubuque
Rob Archibald Hiawatha City Council Linn
John Baber Retired Iowa State Patrol Bremer
Greg Beaver Mitchell Co. Sheriff Mitchell
Tim Beckman Howard Co. Candidate for Sheriff Howard
Jason Bina Tama Chief of Police Tama
Kim Campshure Law Enforcement Spouse Linn
Jason Cromer Garnavillo Fire Department Volunteer Firefighter Clayton
Benjamin Davis  Fayette Chief of Police Fayette
Jeff Driscoll Retired Iowa State Patrol Dubuque
Dan Fank Worth Co. Sheriff Worth
Marty Fisher Fayette Co. Sheriff Fayette
John Gehling Howard Co. Volunteer Firefighter Howard
Greg Graver Jones Co. Sheriff Jones
Jeff Harnish Belle Plaine Police Dept. Benton
Adam Hoffman Mayor of Waverly Bremer
Steve Hoffman Marshall Co. Sheriff Marshall
Kris Hudson Belle Plaine Chief of Police Benton
Shawn Ireland Sgt., Linn Co Sheriff Dept. Linn
Rick Jacoby Poweshiek Co. Reserve Sheriff’s Deputy Poweshiek
Brad Jensen Volunteer first responder and firefighter in Alburnett Linn
Brent Kilburg Candidate for Sheriff Jackson County Jackson
Sean Kinkead Cedar Rapids Police Department Linn
Amy Kucera Bellevue Volunteer EMT Jackson
Dennis Kucera Tama Co. Sheriff Tama
Sarah Lacina-Wardenburg Cedar Rapids Police Department Linn
John LeClere Delaware Co. Sheriff Delaware
Dennis Marks Chief of Hiawatha Police Linn
Dan Marx Winneshiek Co. Sheriff Winneshiek
Eric Medd Blairstown Fire Dept. Benton
Clark Mellick Allamakee Co. Sheriff Allamakee
Ryan Miller Marion Director of Public Safety Linn
Louis Modlin Marshall County Sheriff’s Deputy Marshall
Brett Morris Public Works Supervisor Black Hawk
Jackie Nau Mental Health Professional Linn
Richard Newton Independence Firefighter Buchanan
James Parish Garnavillo Fire Department Volunteer Firefighter Clayton
Dan Pickett Bremer Co. Sheriff Bremer
Alex Popenhagen Elgin Fire Captain Fayette
Robert Rotter Iowa Co. Sheriff Iowa
David Smutzler Decorah Chief of Police Winneshiek
Jim Sorensen Jones Co. Courthouse Security Jones
Randy Stone Iowa State Patrol Tama
Les Taylor Brooklyn Volunteer Fire Department Chief Poweshiek
Ron Tippett Benton Co. Sheriff Benton
Mike Tschirgi Clayton Co Sheriff Clayton
William Tuthill Ely City Council Linn
Paul Wagner Waukon Chief of Police Allamakee
Patrick White Marshall Co. Jail Administrator Marshall
Les Wood Reserve Deputy for Benton County Benton