Speaker of the Iowa House, Republican Pat Grassley, announced committee leadership for the upcoming legislative session. The legislature is scheduled to convene on  Monday, January 11, 2021.

In a statement sent Tuesday morning, Grassley specifically mentioned education and health care issues were a top priority for the caucus.

“House Republicans are energized and ready to hit the ground running to address the priorities that they have heard from Iowans over the last several months,” said Speaker Grassley. “Representing 97 of Iowa’s 99 counties, House Republicans have heard a clear message from Iowans in every corner of our state: they want us to reignite our economy, help folks get back to work and school safely, and return to normalcy as quickly as possible. This hard-working group of talented legislators are uniquely equipped to spearhead our efforts and do just that.


In addition, House Republicans will continue to demonstrate the strong fiscal leadership that has made Iowa’s budget the most resilient in the country, look for ways to reduce taxes on working families, ensure our kids receive the best education possible and make sure that Iowans are able to access and afford critical health services no matter where they live.”

Standing Committees Assignments:


Administrative Rules Review
Rep. Megan Jones (R-Sioux Rapids) – Chair

Rep. Ross Paustian (R-Walcott) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Chad Ingels (R-Randalia) – Vice-Chair

Rep. Gary Mohr (R-Bettendorf) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Shannon Latham (R-Sheffield) – Vice-Chair

Rep. Shannon Lundgren (R-Peosta) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Mark Cisneros (R- Muscatine) – Vice-Chair

Economic Growth
Rep. Ray Sorensen (R-Greenfield) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Henry Stone (R-Forest City) – Vice-Chair

Rep. Dustin Hite (R-New Sharon) – Chair
Rep. Skyler Wheeler (R-Orange City) – Vice-Chair

Environmental Protection
Rep. Dean Fisher (R-Montour) – Chair
Rep. Tom Moore (R-Griswold) – Vice-Chair

Rep. Anne Osmundson (R- Volga) – Chair

Government Oversight
Rep. Holly Brink (R-Oskaloosa) – Chair
Rep. Jon Jacobsen (R-Council Bluffs) – Vice-Chair

Human Resources
Rep. Ann Meyer (R-Fort Dodge) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Steve Bradley (R-Cascade) – Vice-Chair

Information Technology
Rep. Brian Lohse (R-Bondurant) – Chair
Rep. David Sieck (R-Glenwood) – Vice-Chair

International Relations
Rep. Terry Baxter (R-Garner) – Chair
Rep. Jon Thorup (R-Knoxville) – Vice-Chair

Rep. Steve Holt (R-Denison) – Chair
Rep. Stan Gustafson (R-Cumming) – Vice-Chair

Rep. Dave Deyoe (R-Nevada) – Chair
Rep. Jeff Shipley (R-Birmingham) – Vice-Chair

Local Government
Rep. Jane Bloomingdale (R-Northwood) – Chair
Rep. Brent Siegrist (R-Council Bluffs) – Vice-Chair

Natural Resources
Rep. Rob Bacon (R-Slater) – Chair
Rep. Tom Jeneary (R-Le Mars) – Vice-Chair

Public Safety
Rep. Jarad Klein (R-Keota) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Cherielynn Westrich (R-Ottumwa) – Vice Chair

State Government
Rep. Bobby Kaufmann (R-Wilton) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Brooke Boden (R-Indianola) – Vice-Chair

Rep. Brian Best (R-Glidden) – Chair
Rep. Dave Maxwell (R-Gibson) – Vice-Chair

Veterans Affairs
Rep. Sandy Salmon (R-Janesville) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Martin Graber (R-Fort Madison) – Vice-Chair

Ways & Means
Rep. Lee Hein (R-Monticello) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Carter Nordman (R-Adel) – Vice Chair


Appropriations Subcommittee Assignments:

Administration and Regulation Appropriations
Rep. John Landon (R-Ankeny) – Chair
Rep. Michael Bergan (R-Dorchester) – Vice-Chair

Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations
Rep. Norlin Mommsen (R-DeWitt) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Dennis Bush (R-Cleghorn) – Vice-Chair

Economic Development Appropriations
Rep. Phil Thompson (R-Jefferson) – Chair
Rep. Tom Gerhold (R-Atkins) – Vice-Chair

Education Appropriations
Rep. David Kerr (R-Morning Sun) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Garrett Gobble (R-Ankeny) – Vice-Chair

Health and Human Services Appropriations
Rep. Joel Fry (R-Osceola) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Eddie Andrews (R-Johnston) – Vice-Chair

Justice Systems Appropriations
Rep. Gary Worthan (R-Storm Lake) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Charlie McClintock (R-Alburnett) – Vice-Chair

Transportation, Infrastructure, and Capitals Appropriations
Rep. Jacob Bossman (R-Sioux City) – Chair
Rep. Anne Osmundson (R-Volga) – Vice-Chair